top of page

Maryland Handgun Permit Classes FAQS

Thank you for your interest in booking a class with USTASC. There is some additional information that you must complete and that you should know so that you can enjoy your Maryland handgun permit training near you.


  • You must complete the online waiver PRIOR to arriving for class. The online waiver can be filled out by clicking HERE.

  • You must bring $20 cash or $25 credit card to pay for your range fees. Range fees are paid directly to the range on the day of your class.

  • Ammunition requirements (you can purchase ammunition on the day of your course at the range, online, or at your local gun store):

    • For an HQL class you must brin​g at least 50 rounds of ammunition in  9mm..

    • For a concealed carry class or a tactical pistol class you must bring 250 rounds of ammunition per day in whatever caliber your firearm is.

    • For a rifle class you must bring 200 rounds of ammunition.

  • We suggest that you bring a hydration device or water bottle with you to the range. Stay hydrated during the course. Drink often.​

  • We recommend that you DO NOT wear a low cut or V-neck tee shirt as hot brass has a tendency to drop in these areas. You MUST wear closed toed shoes, open toed shoes are not permitted.

  • Dress for the weather. Check the forecast the day prior to the course. You will be outside. In the case of inclement weather, we will only cancel the class if driving conditions are too severe or if the weather will severely affect our ability to teach. Minor rain or snow will not cancel the class. If we cancel the class we will notify you and reschedule you for a different time.

  • You do not need to bring ear or eye protection if you do not wish to, it will be provided during your Maryland concealed carry class. Although if you wish to bring it that is fine.

  • Cancellations are not allowed however; you may reschedule at the discretion of USTASC schedule. 

What types of firearms training services do you offer?

We offer multiple Maryland handgun permit classes.


  1. Our most popular is our HQL class which consists of 4 hours of training and qualifies the training component to license you to purchase a handgun in Maryland.

  2. Our handgun permit class, which is 16 hours over two days, is open to all who wish to obtain a handgun permit in Maryland, commonly known as wear and carry or CCW. This class is open to all persons who:

    • are do not have a felony conviction, a violent misdemeanor conviction, or a misdemeanor conviction that has a statutory penalty of more than 1 year in jail.

    • is not a habitual drunkard or drug addict

    • does not possess a cannabis patient card or if one was possessed in the past, one year has passed

    • is not suffering from a mental condition that would prohibit the person from owning a firearm or carrying a firearm such as being committed to a mental instruction for over 30 days

    • is not subject to a protective order

  3. Although anyone can take the class, we cannot guarantee that you will qualify for a Maryland CCW. That decision is up to the Maryland State Police. The class also qualifies you to file for your Florida out of state permit which is good in multiple states.

  4. Our Maryland handgun permit renewal class is 8 hours and qualifies the training component for those who currently hold a Maryland handgun permit to renew their license. 

  5. We also offer tactical pistol which is 8 hours and consists of moving and shooting, shooting from cover & concealment, stress inoculated shooting, room clearing, and judgmental shooting. 

How do I get my Maryland HQL?

There are three basic steps. First, you must take an HQL course, which we offer. Second you must get fingerprinted at a Livescan fingerprinting station (we can advise you on locations. Third, you must submit your Maryland State Police HQL application online within 72 hours of being fingerprinted.

Is Maryland HQL a handgun permit?

No. Maryland HQL allows you to purchase a handgun in Maryland. You must have a separate Maryland handgun permit to carry a firearm in Maryland on your person loaded or in your vehicle. 

Is Maryland an open carry state?


When can I use lethal force?

We discuss this in the class.

If I get a handgun permit, do I have to conceal my firearm?

You cannot carry your firearm in a method that causes "reason for alarm" to the general public. Therefore, we highly recommend that you carry the firearm concealed and use clothing that conceals the imprint of your firearm. Carrying a firearm exposed is tactically unsafe. As the provider of Maryland handgun permit training near you, we will go over rules in great detail.

If I am prior military or law enforcement, do I have to take the 16 hour class to qualify for the pistol permit or HQL?

  • Current police officers do not have to take the course

  • Prior military retired within the last 20 years do not have to take the course

  • Prior police officers and corrections officers that have a letter of good standing from their police department along with qualification scores do not have to take the course


How do I book a service?

Booking services is easy....

1. Book online by clicking here. 

2. The last part is to complete the online waiver agreements.


Where are you located?

We provide classroom services at 2029 Northwood Drive, Salisbury, MD. and we provide range services in Mardela, Maryland (Approx 10 min our offices).


I need consulting services in another state, will you travel to me?

Yes. Travel fees, lodging, meals, etc. will be included in your price.


Do you have any NRA Certified instructors?



Do you have MPCTC Certified Instructors?



Do you have SWAT trained instructors?



 Do you have Delaware certified instructors?



Is there any difference between the Florida and Utah state carry permits?

Each state has different laws on carrying a weapon concealed. While some advertise that the permit is good in “32” states or “15” states, each state has different requirements. We strongly recommend you check this information in order to obtain and carry a firearm state to state to remain in compliance with each state’s laws. Currently, Maryland does not recognize a carry permit with any other state. We do now offer a Florida Concealed Carry Class. which is also  an NRA Certified Handgun Course.


Who can attend training?

We require all our training clients to complete an online waiver that reviews the client's psychological and criminal background. Primary applicants for training must be at least 18 years of age. However, in the event a family wishes to attend training we will allow children as young as 13 years old attend training depending on their skill level. 


Who can NOT attend training?

We background check all our clients to ensure that we are not training criminals on how to shoot better! We will not train anyone with:

  • any felony conviction

  • a person with a medical cannabis card (prohibited by federal law)

  • domestic violence or an active protective order

  • a sexual assault conviction

  • a stalking or similar conviction

  • an impersonation of a police officer conviction

  • burglary conviction

  • an emergency petition history 

  • a mentally unstable person

  • intoxicated

  • drug sales convictions 

  • firearms wear/carry conviction


Can I bring my own firearm to training?

Yes. We recommend it so that you train with what you are familiar with and will carry or have at your home or place of business. We will assess if the firearm is safe prior to training. We may choose not to allow you to fire your own firearm if we do not feel it meets our safety guidelines. You must bring your firearm UNLOADED and locked within your vehicle trunk or lockable area. Leave the firearm in your vehicle until we are ready for you  to get it.


I don't have a firearm, will you provide one?



I am interested in buying a firearm, can you recommend one?

Yes. During your first day of training. As a FFL we are licensed to sell firearms.


How do I apply for my Maryland HQL or Maryland Firearms Permit?

Click here


I have lost my HQL paperwork and another copy. How do I obtain another copy?

You can call us at 888-813-4424. There is a $25 fee for replacements. 


I need help applying for my HQL or Handgun Permit, can I come to your office for help?

Yes. If we prepare your application or permit for you there is a $100.00 charge.


How many people can I include in group training?

Group training is unlimited. We will assign the correct number of instructors as required for your group.


Are there any additional fees?

Yes. If taking a class, you must pay for your training ammo ( you can obtain this anywhere, we do not sell ammunition) and you must pay for your range fee directly to the range , about $20 per person.


What should I bring to Maryland handgun permit classes?

If attending classroom training, you must bring a completed training application, a pen, and some note paper, as well as your unloaded firearm if required. For range training, we suggest you bring water , ear and eye protection( we will provide if you don't have), dress for weather, unloaded firearm, 150-250 rounds of ammunition (depending on course requirements), a holster, a spare magazine, and a BELT that fits in your pants belt loops! Bring a belt!


Do you provide security guard and private detective services?

Yes. Click here for security officer service or click here for private detective services.


What qualifies you as "experts"?

We feel that any time you start thinking of yourself as an expert , you loose the ability to learn effectively. We are however, very qualified to teach you these courses. 


How can I sign up for Maryland handgun permit training near me?

Click here or call us at 888-813-4434!

bottom of page